It is now possible to send photos and videos as a single view on WhatsApp. The functionality that was already available to users of the beta version for a month is available to everyone. Anyone using the Facebook owned messaging app can share a photo or video in “view once” mode before the media in question disappears..
Originally, on SnapChat, each photograph or video sent could only be visible to its recipient for one to ten seconds, although it is now possible to send snaps without time limit. All snaps expire after being viewed, but can be saved by taking a screenshot. WhatsApp is now equipped with a similar functionality since it is now possible send photos and videos as a single view.
See also: Snapchat: how to take screenshots without notification
WhatsApp gets a feature taken from SnapChat
The company explains that this new feature is useful for “ a range of needs Like sharing a photo of some clothes you’ve tried on or give someone your Wi-Fi password. Basically, the company would like to remind you that just because the photos or video will disappear doesn’t mean that it won’t stop someone from taking a screenshot. Like on SnapChat, then.
The company also mentioned the arrival of the end-to-end encryption for all of its messaging services. She plans to make them interoperable in the future. WhatsApp enabled end-to-end encryption by default in 2016, but for Messenger and Instagram, this privacy measure is still a long way off.
See also: WhatsApp rolls out new FaceTime-inspired calling interface on iPhone
According to Facebook, this new feature is a new step to give users ” even more control over their privacy “. A refrain that Mark Zuckerberg has enjoyed singing ever since he announced his new privacy-focused vision for his business about two years ago.
After a violent round of accusations against its social networks – which do not hesitate to collect our data – Facebook has effectively put in place a few elements so that users can better control their online privacy. But there is still a long way to go.
Called “View Once”, the functionality is deployed via an update available “from this week for all users”, writes WhatsApp in the official press release.