How to delete your Instagram account?

Want to delete your Instagram account or just deactivate it? The application unfortunately does not allow you to do this directly, but thanks to this tutorial you should get there in just a few minutes. We’ll also show you how to properly back up all your footage before you jump in, so you don’t lose everything.

Deactivate or delete your Instagram account

Instagram is the social network for sharing photos and videos with more than a billion users worldwide. Excluding messaging applications, it is the second most used social network in the world behind Facebook (2.6 billion) and ahead of TikTok (800 million users). As such, Instagram is a great platform for influencers of all stripes.

But it is better to follow a few tips on Instagram to develop your account, otherwise you will stagnate with few followers. Sometimes the very functioning of Instagram can confuse some users. This is also two of the reasons why many people test the application and its filters for a while, before moving on to something else. But that might not be your case.

Some people do not hesitate to create accounts according to occasions or events. This can be a great idea for promoting it or allowing a group of people to view photos from an event. Except that in this case, we don’t necessarily want to let this kind of accounts live to eternal life. We explain how to deactivate or delete your Instagram account because both possibilities are available to you.

How to temporarily deactivate an Instagram account

A first option makes it possible to temporarily deactivate your Instagram account. Your account, its photos and followers will then be simply hidden from the network. But nothing will be really deleted, and it will be very easy for you to reactivate the account at a later date, in principle without time limit. Here’s the procedure to follow :

  • Go to Instagram.com from your web browser (for your convenience, it will probably be easier from your computer).
  • Log in with the account you would like to deactivate.
  • Click on your profile picture at the top, completely to the right.
  • Click the option Profile from the drop-down menu.
  • Then on Modifier profile on the page that opens, right next to the profile photo and name.
  • Scroll completely to the bottom of the next page and click on the button Temporarily deactivate my account.Deactivate Instagram account
  • Choose a reason from the drop-down menu
  • Enter your account password in the field below
  • Click on the big red button Temporarily deactivate my account to confirm.

You can reactivate your account at any time, simply by reconnecting to Instagram with your username and password.

How to permanently delete your Instagram account

If you have made the decision to delete an Instagram account, be aware that you will not be able to backtrack : your subscribers and followers will be lost forever. Fortunately, if you want to keep your memories, it is still possible. Thanks to the GDPR, all social networks allow users to retrieve all their data whenever they want. Find out how to upload all your photos, videos, and other data to Instagram before continuing to the next steps.

After recovering a copy of your data, do the following:

Instagram belonging to Facebook since 2012, if you want to free yourself a little more from the largest social network in the world, we explain here how to delete your Facebook account. When you no longer use some of your social accounts, it always feels good to do a little cleaning, right?

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here