We explain how to permanently delete your Facebook account or temporarily deactivate it. The social network has become a real encyclopedia on your life. If you no longer want to leave traces of your personal information on the web and on the service’s servers, this is not very complicated to do. Follow the guide to delete your Facebook account.
Before you begin, be aware that it is possible to either delete your Facebook account, either deactivate. In this second case, your log information will no longer be visible and no one will be able to find you. However, the messages you sent will still be visible to your friends. Facebook will keep your information if you want to reactivate the account later by logging in again.
Delete or deactivate your Facebook easily
To deactivate your account, we will see how to proceed from a PC (web version) or from the Facebook mobile application.
On the web browser from a PC
- Click the arrow at the top right of the Facebook menu, then click Settings and privacy> Settings.
- Go to the tab Your informations (on the top corner left).
- Click the option deactivation and deletion.
- Choose the deactivate option. Facebook will ask you to enter your password, then to justify your reason for leaving.
The social network will offer you to notify your friends and hand over to a new administrator for the Facebook pages you manage. Validate and you will receive confirmation of deactivation.
Note: As specified above, in the case of deactivation, the account no longer appears on Facebook. It is not visible to your friends or via a search. It therefore acts as if it were deleted, but your information is kept on the servers of the social network. Your account will be reactivated if you log in again.
Deactivate a Facebook account from the mobile application
The process is the same. You just need to locate the opt-out options in the mobile version. Start by opening Facebook on your smartphone:
- Tap the three horizontal lines in the upper right corner.
- Scroll down to the end of the page and choose Settings and privacy> Settings.
- Scroll down the page again and locate the section Your Facebook information
- Select Account Ownership and Control> Deactivation and Deletion.
- On the page that opens, tap Deactivate.
- Follow the instructions to the end.
To reactivate your Facebook account, you can do so at any time. The process is very simple. Just log in again as if nothing had happened and you’re good to go. Once you are logged into your account, all of your information will be visible again.
I want to permanently delete my Facebook account
If you are sure you can delete everything. The action is irreversible and your data will disappear, well almost all. As with deactivation, messages you sent to your friends will still be available in their discussion thread.
Delete a Facebook account from the web version on PC
The process is the same as for deactivation. Just choose the option Permanently delete my account. To put it simply, go directly to this address. Facebook will offer to download your personal data (photos, videos and publications) before permanently deleting the account. Follow the instructions to the end.
Delete a Facebook account from the mobile application
Follow the same instructions as for deactivation from the Facebook app and choose the Remove option instead. Then follow the instructions until the end. All you have to do is wait. It may take up to 90 days (maximum) before all of your data is deleted. During this period, no one will be able to access the information, images, etc. on your account.
Facebook does this in case you change your mind. If you reconnect to your account before it is permanently deleted, the entire process will be canceled. The social network is ready to do anything so as not to get lost. And if you don’t want to go so far as to deactivate your account, you can just take a few precautions like hiding your Facebook photos from the public that you don’t know.