Gmail: how to recall an email

Gmail allows you to recall an email. This feature can save you the day in many cases. But you have a specific deadline to cancel the sending of the email.

Gmail cancel sending

Recalling an email is one of the many features offered in Gmail. This possibility is useful in several cases: an inadvertent click and your message is flown away, you knowingly press the “send” button to realize a few seconds later of a recipient error, an error. spelling mistake or an incongruity that you would have done well without. You can have the shipment canceled.

Gmail: here’s how to recall an email

Truth be told, this is an option to delay sent messages. Rather than sending them to your recipients the instant you press the “Send” button, the message is delayed for a few seconds. The time is more or less reasonable to allow you to call back the email if you sent it by mistake or if in the process, you realize an error.

Gmail therefore does not allow you to recall an email that has already reached the recipient but rather to apply a delay between 5, 10, 20 and 30 seconds before sending. Beyond that, the message is sent without the possibility of cancellation. Here’s how to activate the feature, but also how change the delay time.

1. Configure the email reminder delay

  • On PC, sign in to Gmail from a web browser.
  • Click on the cogwheel at the top right, then on See all settings.
  • In the tab General, locate the option ” Cancel sending ».
  • The option is enabled by default in newer versions of Gmail. Just choose a cancellation deadline.Email cancellation deadline on Gmail
  • Completely at the bottom of the page, click on the “Save changes” button.

2. Recall a message sent on PC and smartphone

As soon as the feature is activated, each time you send a new message, a notification strip appears at the bottom of the screen with a link to display the message sent and another to cancel it, as long as you are always within the time limit configured in the settings.

Remind mail gmail

A recalled email is not automatically deleted. The application returns you to the message editing window, with the possibility of modifying it and then resending it. And if by the greatest of luck another typo slips into the email, you just have to repeat the same process. There is no limit. The callback process is the same in the mobile version of Gmail. Press the cancel button that appears after sending.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here